For its first concert of the new 2018-19 season, the Torrevieja Symphonic Orchestra just happens to be celebrating its tenth anniversary.

For this reason, the local orchestra will perform a special concert at the Auditorium next Saturday 27 October.

On the programme for the evening is Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto, with the accompanying performance of Austrian violinist Elena Tanski, and Dvorak’s 9th Symphony in e minor, Op. 95 (the “New World” Symphony).

Tchakovsky wrote his violin concerto in March 1878, while he was on holiday in Switzerland, after his failed marriage with Antonina Miliukova (a marriage he used to try to hide his homosexuality) and later suicide attempt. The concerto was dedicated to the famous violinist Leopold Auer, who refused to perform at the premiere claiming it was “impossible to play” because of its technical difficulty, although he would later encourage his own pupils to study this work, a work that would become almost like a litmus test for any violin player who prides himself in being a virtuoso.

Antonin Dvorak composed his “New World Symphony” from January to May 1893, in a time during which he was living in the United States, working as director of the National Conservatory of Music in New York. He took inspiration from American folk music, Native American music, and Afro-American gospel music, although he never forgot about his Bohemian roots or his motherland. The result was a mixture of everything within a same work that gathered together the old and the new world’s different races and rhythms. It was a tremendous success from its very premiere and it ended up becoming one of the most performed symphonies ever.

Tickets can be purchased online from this link:

Date: Saturday 27 October 2018

Time: 19.00h to 21.00h

Place: Auditorio de Torrevieja

Address: Partida de la Loma s/n, next to QuirónSalud Hospital, 03183 Torrevieja, Alicante

Entrance: From 7€